The horse enthusiast's source for information and classifieds

April 2013

Get this Featured Story and much more every month in
The Horse Gazette Newspaper
Available at horse related businesses throughout Texas... Ask for it!
Published monthly since 1996!

"I read it in The Horse Gazette!"


Act today to help advance beneficial Texas Horse Industry Legislation!

Act today to help advance beneficial Texas Horse Industry Legislation!

On February 22, Senator Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa (D-District 20) filed Texas State Joint Resolution #36 and enabling Senate bill #789 that call for a constitutional referendum to allow video lottery games at licensed horse and Greyhound racetracks and by Indian tribes under the regulatory authority of the Texas Lottery Commission and the Texas Racing Commission.

Subsequently on March 6, Representative Richard Raymond (D-District 42) filed companion legislation HJR #121 and HB #2729 also calling for a constitutional referendum to allow video lottery games at licensed horse and Greyhound racetracks and by Indian tribes.

SB 789 and SJR 36 have been assigned to the Senate Finance Committee and could be scheduled for a hearing very soon.

At this time, please contact the Committee members via e-mail to ask for their support of legislation beneficial to the Texas horse industry, and send a copy of your e-mail and any response to Dan Fick, Executive Director of Texas Horse at dan@texas-horse.com.

Senate Committee on Finance (C540): Clerk: Stephanie Hoover, Phone: 512-463-0370, Room: EXT E1.038. Chair: Sen. Tommy Williams (SD 4), e-mail tommy.williams@senate.state.tx.us. Vice Chair: Sen. Juan Hinojosa (SD 20), e-mail juan.hinojosa@senate.state.tx.us. Members: Sen. Bob Deuell (SD 2), e-mail robert.duell@senate.state.tx.us. Sen. Robert Duncan (SD 28) email robert.duncan@senate.state.tx.us. Sen. Kevin Eltife (SD 1) e-mail: kevin.eltife@senate.state.tx.us. Sen. Craig Estes (SD 30) e-mail craig.estes@senate.state.tx.us. Sen. Glenn Hegar (SD 18) e-mail glen.hegar@senate.state.tx.us. Sen. Joan Huffman ( SD 17) e-mail joan.huffman@senate.state.tx.us. Sen Eddie Lucio, Jr. (SD 27) e-mail eddie.lucio@senate.state.tx.us. Sen. Jane Nelson (SD 12) e-mail jane.nelson@senate.state.tx.us. Sen. Dan Patrick (SD 7) e-mail dan.patrick@senate.state.tx.us. Sen. Kel Seliger (SD 31) e-mail kel.seliger@senate.state.tx.us. Sen. Royce West (SD 23) e-mail kel.seliger@senate.state.tx.us. Sen. Royce West (SD 23) e-mail royce.west@senate.state.tx.us. Sen. John Whitmire (SD 15) e-mail john.whitmire@senate.state.tx.us. Sen. Judith Zaffirini (SD 21) e-mail judith.zaffirini@senate.state.tx.us.

HB 2729 and HJR 121 have been filed related to VLTs at racetracks. HB 2374 relating to racetrack simulcast extensions has been assigned to the House Committee on Licensing & Administrative Procedures and could be scheduled for a hearing very soon.

At this time, please contact the Committee members via e-mail to ask for their support of legislation beneficial to the Texas horse industry, and send a copy of your email and any response to Dan Fick, Executive Director of Texas horse at dan@texas-horse.com.

House Committee on Licensing & Administrative Procedures: Clerk: Gabe Valenzuela, Phone: 512-463-0798, Room EXT E2.156. Chair: Rep. Wayne Smith (HD 128) e-mail wayne.smith@house.state.tx.us. Vice Chair: Rep. John Kuempel (HD 44) e-mail john.kuempel@house.state.tx.us. Members: Rep Charlie Geren (HD 99) e-mail charlie.geren@house.state.tx.us. Rep. Lance Gooden (HD 4) e-mail lance.gooden@house.state.tx.us. Rep. Ryan Guillen (HD 31) e-mail ryan.guillen@house.state.tx.us. Rep. Roland Gutierrez (HD 119) e-mail roland.gutierrez@house.state.tx.us. Rep. Borris Miles (HD 146) e-mail borris.miles@house.state.tx.us. Rep. Walter "Four" Price (HD 87) e-mail walter.price@house.state.tx.us. Rep. Senfronia Thompson (HD 141) e-mail senfronia.thompson@house.state.tx.us.

For more information on any bill, go to www.capitol.state.tx.us/BillLookup/BillNumber.aspx and the specific bill number.

(Back to Archived Features Page)
(Back to Home Page)